Maria Holland

Year of the Dragon

In Uncategorized on March 28, 2012 at 12:46 pm

I’m turning 24 today!  Because this is a multiple of 12, this means that it’s currently my 本命年!  That’s right, it is now the Year of the Dragon, as it was in 1988 and 2000.  Being born in the Year of the Dragon is pretty much the best, and it’s not just me that thinks so!  China and much of Asia are expecting a baby boom because everyone wants their kids born under the sign of the dragon! 

Talking to my friend XuLei shortly before the new year, I asked her what I was supposed to do during “my year”.  The answer?  Wear red underwear.  BUT you can’t buy them for yourself, she said – they have to be a gift.

I hosted a Chinese New Year party on 除夕 (New Year’s Eve) and had about a dozen people crammed into my tiny apartment for 饺子,麻婆豆腐,拔丝土豆,宫保鸡丁, etc.  I was talking to one of my American-born Chinese friends and told him the red panties, and he said it sounded like XuLei was “trolling” me. 

Next day, I got a text from him.  He had called his grandmother to wish her a happy new year, and she told he should be wearing red underwear. 

He was forced to concede that maybe XuLei was onto something.

Leave a Reply

