Maria Holland

Choices Have Consequences

In Uncategorized on September 25, 2011 at 11:19 pm

So, in the past week I have started a new phase of my life in a new part of the country at a new institute of education.  It’s going to be an adventure, for sure.

Seems like a good time to look back at what I’ve learned from previous such adventures.  At the end of high school, a teacher had us write down answers to a few questions:

What are two of your collegiate objectives?

One huge goal is to find an area of study that fits me and my life, both present and future. That’s going to be a very big deal for me, way bigger than choosing a college, and also very hard because I feel pulled in so many directions. The second thing I hope to do is to make the most of every opportunity at Tulsa like I have here at CRHS. I came in with so many plans of classes I was going to take and groups I was going to join, but I just took every opportunity presented to me and it came out way better than I ever would have expected. I already know of many opportunities that await me at college, but I hope I have the courage to take advantage of others that arise.

Change “Tulsa” to “Stanford”, “CRHS” to “Tulsa”, and “college” to “grad school”, and you have my feelings now.  Apparently not much has changed in 5 years.  (And apparently I had a little bit of the concept of “adventuring” even then!)

I’ve been thinking recently . . . sometimes it seems like such a ridiculous, out-of-the-blue thing that I just did, going to China for the year.  But that’s not the way life works – there are no big choices, just small ones that seem big in hindsight.  Who knows what little decisions I’m making now that will later be seen to be the first steps of a big journey?  That’s a scary thought as you register for classes, arbitrarily selecting courses to fill up your 8-credit course load.  Joining the China project of Engineers Without Borders, instead of the Sierra Leone project – that seemed like an insignificant choice at the time!  Yet look where it took me . . .

Leave a Reply

