Maria Holland

Adventuring Towards Stanford!

In Uncategorized on May 21, 2011 at 11:54 pm

I didn’t write at all last semester, probably because it was absolutely insane.  It was unequivocally the hardest semester of college (all 5 years), in every way, both academically and emotionally. 

There were also many moments of shining wonderfulness.  Sometimes the bad and good came together, like when I had a horrible day and my friends threw me an awesome pity party.

Speaking of friends, remember how worried I was about going away to China for a year and losing all of my friends?  I do.  But with a whole year of perspective, I’m going to have to agree with those people (generally oldsters) who told me that it was all going to be okay.  I’m reminded of a song (Caledonia): “Lost the friends that I needed losing, found others on the way”.  Not only did I meet so many amazing people during my year in China, but this year has been far above and beyond my expectations.  Many of my old friends are still very much in my life, the freshman and sophomores have been a joy to get to know, and my new classmates (the ME class of 2011) have gotten me through this year. 

So that’s been great.  Another thing that was great was the results of my graduate school search.  Apparently no one else was surprised, but I was blown away to be accepted to all of my schools, and, as one of the top applicants at the top three, to be offered fellowships.  As the letters came in, it quickly narrowed down to those top three: MIT, Princeton, and Stanford.  After an epic Spring Break roadtrip in a rented car with a guy I barely knew, I realized that Princeton was gross.  It was a close race between MIT and Stanford but Stanford won . . .

And so I’m moving to California!  Why is this so much more surprising to me than when I moved to China?

I graduated two weeks ago and started my four-and-a-half month vacation – my last summer for a long time!  I just completed my last major southern road trip, visiting Oklahoma City and three major Texas cities, catching a college graduation, retirement, and three birthdays among my family.  I also caught up with some friends from China and met Brother Yun, the famous Chinese house church leader.  We prayed together . . . in Chinese, my first time praying extemporaneously in a foreign language. 

This is the most free time I’ve had in a loooong time – even more unstructured and uncommitted than my time in China!  It’s a little weird but I’m enjoying it!  I have to live it up – grad school starts on September 26th and everything will change . . .

  1. Good to see an update! Safe travels! See you soon.

  2. I am so happy to see your blog again! Thanks,
    Nona

Leave a Reply

