Maria Holland

I Think This Is the Beginning of a Beautiful Friendship . . .

In Uncategorized on November 15, 2010 at 8:51 pm

Random guy (30-year-old male, if his profile is to be believed) friends me on QQ and starts talking to me (translated from Chinese):

Andy: Good morning, Miss

Me: Who are you?

Andy: My name is Andy.  Are you busy?

Me: I’m really busy this week.  Also, I don’t know you.

Andy: Can we get to know each other now?  What’s your last name?  Mine is Zou. 

[a few minutes pass]

Andy: Why aren’t you talking?

Me: Why do you want to get to know me?

Andy: Because I want to be your friend.

Me: Why?

Andy: Because I think your name sounds cool.  Where are you from?

[a few minutes pass]

Andy: Why aren’t you talking?

This is super typical of the average QQ conversation with a stranger; actually many of them are much more creepy.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – there are creepers everywhere.

*Note: I suppose I should allow for the possibility that he’s just really lonely, but either way it’s pretty sad. 

Leave a Reply

