Maria Holland

I Officially Don’t Exist

In Uncategorized on November 2, 2010 at 12:14 am

I never wanted to be one of those bloggers that just posts links to other articles, but there’s just always interesting news coming out of China! 

First, an article about a recent interview with the Premier (Wen JiaBao), in which he talked about political reform, democracy, and freedom of speech.  Of course, this part of the speech was censored in the mainland, because they don’t have any of those three things. 

The irony of Wen’s statements on freedom and censorship being censored in official media was not lost on Chinese observers.

“A lot of Chinese people don’t know their premier has been harmonized,” prominent Beijing University Internet researcher Hu Yong wrote on Twitter, using the Chinese euphemism for censorship. “Wen Jiabao’s comments about political reform being censored at least tells us one thing: In front of the big wall, everyone is equal.”

Also, here’s an article on the census that is underway in China.  I feel like I definitely fell through a gap somewhere.  I was not counted in the US census in April 2010 due to my residence in China, and now that I’m back in the States, they’re counting foreigners for the first time.  I basically don’t exist for the next decade, and I feel a little bit weird about that.

But I should have a more real update later this week, and maybe I’ll start posting my Chinese recipes as I perfect them.  (I get my recipes from the internet in Chinese, so they’re legit.  They have MSG listed as an ingredient, so you know they’re good.)

Leave a Reply

