Maria Holland

1 Down, 31 To Go

In Uncategorized on August 27, 2010 at 11:16 pm

But who’s counting?

I’ve finished the first week of my senior year!

We got two new classmates in Chinese class – one is Russian, and it was so comforting to hear Russian-accented Chinese again!  But, maybe due to the larger class size (5), the teacher put the kibosh on my freeloading.  I was told I had to either enroll in the course or stop going, so . . . maybe I’ll try again next semester.  In good news, I now I have a three-hour lunch break on Mondays and Wednesdays!

 

On Wednesday we had our second Design class.  We brainstormed ways to get across the construction zone between Keplinger (the engineering building) and the rest of campus.  Because we were going for quantity over quality, and because we had to write every idea down, we ended up with a list that included:

  • zipline
  • scheduled fenced-in sidewalk
  • door in the north side of ACAC
  • skyway
  • monorail
  • teleportation
  • giant eagles

Have I mentioned that I love my professor and my classmates?  Stuff like that is worth staying awake for.

 

I’ve been spending my spare time reviewing notes from the previous three years of classes.  My old mentor said that you should write notes with the 5-year standard in mind – that you should be able to pick them up and understand them five years down the road.  It’s been interesting putting mine to the test!  They’re doing pretty well so far.

It’s fun to remember stuff I used to know, but more fun because of the quotes I write in the margins.  For instance, the brainstorm sheet from Design on Wednesday featured these gems:

“I can’t believe I’ve been here 25 years and I haven’t dug a tunnel to my office!”
– Dr. Tipton

Alli: “You’re breaking the rules!” 
Dr. Tipton: “You’re breaking my heart!”

 

But college isn’t all about classes, of course.  I’ve been reminded in a powerful way of the prevalence of free food and t-shirts on American campuses.  Remember when I had to run the 100m dash to get a XiaDa t-shirt?  I went to the activities fair on Thursday to get one (and if I’d wanted to, I could have had a soccer t-shirt as well).  There was Newman lunch on Tuesday, Pizzas of Tulsa on Tuesday night, WOW on Wednesday, a Newman cookout on Wednesday night, and WOW leftovers on Thursday night.  Not bad!

 

On Thursday night, I went to Caravan with a bunch of friends.  Caravan Cattle Co is a 21+ country two-step bar, which I heard about all the time last year because my friends were immediately obsessed.  I spent the last year learning every kind of dance except two-step, but I needed my dancing fix so I decided to check it out. 

It actually ended up reminding me a lot of The Key (in the good old days of first semester, not second semester when it became lame).  There were some creepy older men and some skanky young women, and a lot of people who just wanted to dance and have fun.  Cowboy boots and hats were slightly more prevalent than I remember from Xiamen, but I guess that’s to be expected.  It turns out I don’t really care what we’re dancing or what we’re dancing to, as long as we’re dancing :)

Leave a Reply

