Maria Holland

That Was Weird, Right?

In Uncategorized on July 11, 2010 at 2:15 am

The Gospel at Mass this evening was the story of the Good Samaritan.  I listened closely to both the reading and the homily (which I mostly understood), secretly hoping that others would notice my attentiveness and follow suit.  Chinese culture doesn’t value common courtesy, and I guess the rudeness and self-centered behavior gets wearing after a while.

But when I start thinking this way, God likes to remind me that I need to work on those things as well.  I offered my seat to a tired-looking lady and her daughter on the way back to school, and somehow ended up helping them find a place to stay for the night.

I really have no idea what was up with this lady.  She was Chinese but made me ask the guard if there was a hotel on campus.  She was completely unprepared, not only did she not have reservations, but her cell phone was also dead.  She had come from another province, spent the afternoon on Gulangyu, and was headed back the next afternoon. 

Yeah, it was weird, but all she really asked me to do was walk with her, and what kind of person would I be if I refused?

It’s my second-to-last weekend in Xiamen, but the last one with my foreign friends, so I convinced a couple people to go to The Key with me.  The Key has really sucked this semester, which I guess should make going home easier.  There were a ridiculous number of creepy men there, no one we knew, and while the Filipino band is always good, the filler acts have gotten more and more strange.  Between KK and The Key, we saw two Cirque-like acrobatic acts, an interpretive dance involving (I’m guessing here) fuzzy polar bears, neon green spiders, and Michael Jackson, a beauty contest that mainly consisted of ass-shaking, and a dance group dressed as unicorns.

Maybe another reason I haven’t enjoyed The Key as much this semester is that all the music is unfamiliar.  First semester was all Lady Gaga and the Black Eyed Peas, but now they do music that was released after I left the States and I just don’t know it.  Ke$ha didn’t exist when I was home last, and while the more recently-arrived Americans sang along to Jay-Z’s Empire State of Mind and Lil Wayne’s Bed Rock, I just feel awkward and old. 

I did get to visit my egg roll lady again, though, and that was good.  She said she’d missed me; I felt the same way. 

  1. I just came from Mass, and father did a great job of explaining anew the almost cliched Gospel of the Good Samaritan. It clearly is a story for all ages.

    By the way, you are starting to be awkwared and old. I’m glad you’re first hearing this from some one who loves you very much.

Leave a Reply

