Maria Holland

Ticket to Ride

In Uncategorized on July 1, 2010 at 10:38 pm

I have a ticket home!  I will be leaving Xiamen GaoQi airport at 8 p.m. on Tuesday, July 20th, just under three weeks from now.  After a 26-hour journey passing through Hong Kong, Los Angeles, and Chicago, including nearly 20 hours in the air, I should arrive back home (well, at the Minneapolis/St. Paul airport) around 9 a.m. Central US time. 

I’m reasonably pumped about this.

Now I have the next three weeks to enjoy my life here in Xiamen.  And, of course, to pack.  I can check two 50-lb bags on the way back, which seems pretty good.  For some reason the Americas have different baggage rules than the rest of the world – the rest of the world getting majorly screwed.  I can carry 100 lbs; they can carry 44.  I pay 25 USD to check another bag; they pay approximately that per kilo over their baggage allowance.  Does anyone know why this is?  At any rate, it’s another reason I’m glad to be an American. 

Class was unusually fun today.  This was probably because we spent most of Oral class watching a TV show, and most of Listening class watching a movie.  It may sound like a waste of time, but I think its great.  It’s way more interesting than the textbook and actually applicable in conversations.  I’m done with those two classes now, except for the finals, and have only two more Grammer lessons before that’s done with, too!  I guess this is what happens when you go on vacation the last week of the semester . . .

As of 9:30 a.m. tomorrow, it’s the freaking weekend and I’m about to have me some fun!

Leave a Reply

