Maria Holland

Today’s Menu: Cookies, Mushu Pork, and Rape

In Uncategorized on May 17, 2010 at 11:51 pm

Monday – back to the daily grind.  And by “daily grind”, I mean one class in the morning followed by whatever I want to do for the rest of the day.  Basically, a weekend with a reason to get up.

After class, Aleid and I went to the tailor.  I picked up my white dress and shorts, and ordered my qipao top – $14, super excited!  Then we met up with Eunice and Katrine for lunch at 小肥羊 (Little Fat Sheep) for lunch.  It’s an a la cart hotpot place with quite good meat and some other interesting menu items:

IMG_2782 

The “selected sheep tail” and “duck blood” (not typos) looked interesting, and we all wondered what “kiss chitlins” are, but the thing that really caught our attention was “rape” – only 5 kuai!  We passed though, and still enjoyed our meal.  It was nice to get off campus and away from West Gate on a weekday for lunch, something we almost never do.

From lunch, I went to my friend Carmen’s house for baking.  It’s a little weird to have to schedule baking and travel halfway across the island to get to an oven, but this is my life in China.  I made one batch of chocolate chip cookies and one of chocolate chip banana bread, mostly destined as birthday presents.  It was good to bake again, and the fact that Carmen has an actual kitchen with actual baking supplies and materials made it so easy.  Can’t wait to get home to my kitchen . . .

It was nice to see their place, to visit a home even if it wasn’t mine.  They have an amazing view, too:

BaiLuZhou.tif

I also enjoyed talking to Carmen, who is one of the nicest people I know.  During the few hours that I was using her kitchen, she took two phone calls from people who needed help and made a soup for the woman next door.  She’s such a good model of a kindness, generosity, and all-around selflessness.

This evening, I went to dinner with Aleid.  We went to one of our usual restaurants, but ordered something new and totally struck gold.  We tried the 木须肉 (mushu pork) because it sounded familiar to me, but I’m pretty sure this was 10,000 times better than any Chinese food I’ve ever eaten in America.  It has pork, egg, carrot, cucumber, mushrooms, ginger, and amazingness.  New favorite!

 

PS – I added more pictures to yesterday’s post: group photos on the mountain and pictures of my new glasses!

  1. Maria! I hope you know of Wu Li, SJ…

    Lamentable.

    Pax Christi

    • Yes, I saw your post a few days ago! I hadn’t heard of him before that, but I plan to look around and see if maybe I can find some of his poems in Chinese! Thanks so much for sharing those in your post!

Leave a Reply

