Maria Holland

Attention: I Scored 91 on My Midterm

In Uncategorized on May 4, 2010 at 11:47 pm

I slept in until noon today, which was both necessary and absolutely glorious.  There wasn’t much time for lunch, so I decided to dine on experimental supermarket bakery items.  I bought four items, fully expecting 3 of them to be inedible, as this is just how things roll in bakeries in China.  Egg tarts – success, but I already knew that; they were the one item I was counting on to keep me from starving.  Portuguese-style mystery tart – also an egg tart, but with red beans in the bottom; better than feared, but red-bean-less egg tarts are better.  Also, turns out 4 egg tarts is a little much.  British scone – not bad!; it probably helps that scones are essentially slightly sweet dry bread with raisins and thus basically the specialty of every Chinese baker.  Black baguette – probably dyed with cuttlefish ink, not an Outback-style rye loaf.  Fail . . .

We got our midterms back in Listening class this afternoon – I got a 91.  The teacher not only told us the breakdown of scores (there were 6 of us who scored above 90), but also read our names out loud and shared the name and grade of the highest scorer.  In Oral class, we started a new lesson on “The Simple Life”, the latest in a series of texts all prompting us to ponder the question “What does it mean to be rich?”.  Richness, material or otherwise, is on the fast track to being the new “Beijing’s 4 seasons”.  Interesting Chinese fact of the day: They also have the phrase “my other half” to describe one’s husband or wife.

This evening, I went over to West Gate to join some friends for dessert.  Today was Maja’s birthday, and as the person who introduced her to her new obsession with Catan, I had a present for her:

IMG_2679

We had 绵绵冰 for dessert, a delicious treat consisting of shaved flavored ice, topped with pudding, fresh fruit, or chocolate syrup.  It’s one of the [few?] things here in China that I think would genuinely catch on in America without major adjustments (along with malatang, and heat-sealed to-to cups). 

We ordered three: chocolate pudding, blueberry, and sesame.  What a colorful dessert!

IMG_2680

I love 绵绵冰 but haven’t eaten it since last fall; it’s just been too cold to eat a huge bowl of ice.  I’m excited that it’s time to eat it again – 绵绵冰 is the taste of summer in Xiamen.

  1. YEA you on your 91!

  2. Yay! on your exam score and yay for Catan and Yay for shave ice! Remember my hunt for Pat Bing Su (korean name) in China…this is very similar except it needs red beans, and mixed fruit cocktail, and rice cakes but you know it’s pretty much the same thing! I’d totally eat it…and too funny on the inkfish bread…Yummo!

  3. Of course I remember your longing for Pat Bing Su, haha. I’m still not a huge red bean fan, but I’m crazy about the shaved ice. Why doesn’t America have this?!??

Leave a Reply

