Maria Holland

I’m Coming Home Again; Do You Think About Me Now And Then?

In Uncategorized on May 2, 2010 at 2:00 am

The rapidly-approaching end of the semester back home makes my return seem much more imminent.  There’s just the summer standing between now and my return to TU, but of course summers apart are standard fare for college friends so it doesn’t seem like such a big deal.

I’ve been hearing from TU friends more than usual these last few weeks, which has been great.  For instance, I found out I’m going to have a class buddy for Resources and the Environment!  I’m really excited because I feared that taking a class outside of my major (when there are two entire classes of students I’ve never met) would mean not knowing anyone.

But the best email definitely came from Whitney last week.  The Newman Center at TU has a film festival every year, and Whitney wrote to tell me that she and the other senior (class of ‘10) girls were doing a remake of the Spice Girls’ Wannabe video.  She wondered, would I do a cameo?  I may technically be graduating in 2011, but in my heart I’ll always be class of ‘10.  Of course I agreed!

I spent an hour on Friday doing take after take in front of my webcam, then sent the videos off to Whitney and the others to work their magic.

. . . and apparently their magic worked, because we won!

The close-up on the mouth was my idea, because I liked the idea of keeping my long-distance participation a secret for as long as possible.  I guess it worked, because according to Whitney:

I’m sure you already know that we dominated, but I also just have to say that when the shot moved from your mouth to you dancing, the room went NUTS. Everyone was cheering and clapping, and by the time you swang your ponytail around people were outtacontrol!  You are quite loved.

I was a little worried about this video of me rapping and twirling my ponytail being the first impression that this year’s freshman had of me, but oh well.  Anyways, I guess it worked out okay because I just had the first freshman add me as a facebook friend!

A while ago, I read somebody’s Laowai playlist – the soundtrack of the life of an expat in China.  I’m working on a similar list, but I liked some of their choices.  Right now, the one that fits is Homecoming, by Kanye

I’m coming home again.
Do you think about me now and then?
Do you think about me now and then?
Cause I’m coming home again
Coming home again.

Because I am, and I hope you do!

  1. I loved the video, and your part was excellent. That was a great idea.

  2. Congratulations to the Senior… er, I mean Spice Girls! Wish I could have been there to see everybody’s reaction. And, yes, I think about you now and then…

  3. just got to see the video! great! I can see why you all won Miss Kung Pow Spice!!

Leave a Reply

