Maria Holland

Boys Are Stupid. Throw Rocks At Them

In Uncategorized on February 26, 2010 at 1:07 am

No, I didn’t get my heart broken today. 

I did, however, get beaten in a very competitive game of Catan, played against all males. 

It’s been awhile since I’ve played guys in Catan, at least since I left home.  (Yong Zhi doesn’t count because, whether it’s an individual or cultural thing, he’s very laidback, even when playing a game.)  When I played with Aleid, Eunjeong, and Denise, we would laugh and make jokes and apologize when stealing cards from each other. 

Today, I played with Yong Zhi and two of my new Dutch friends who already knew how to play.  Let’s just say there were no apologies offered when roads were purposefully placed in others’ way, when cards were stolen, or robbers were returned to the same hex that they had been inhabiting for the last 8 rounds. 

It’s okay, though, because it was still fun.  I don’t mind a little competition.  The insider trading between Jelle and Koen in Dutch was a little low, though, right?

The worst, though, is that I think I won but Koen is claiming the victory!  Apparently he learned that victory point development cards have to be turned over before they count, and their revealing is governed by the same rules as other development cards – not on the turn that they were bought, and only one card per turn.  So there we are, Koen and I tied at 9 points . . . I buy a victory point card and he’s got a city in his hands.  According to my rules, I win.  According to his rules, we continue playing and he builds the city, his 10th point, on his turn.

By the way, according to the rules I found on the internet, I was right.  Victory is mine!  I’ll tell Koen tomorrow. 

I spent the late afternoon working on the main texts of Night Prayer in Chinese.  They’re much shorter, feature way less variation, and basically seem easier in all ways than the Magnificat, so I think that’s my new goal. 

This evening I went out with friends to Me & You 2, a bar right on the water in Haiwan Park featuring “Xiamen’s best thin crust pizza”.  While I honestly wonder how stiff that competition is, I will say that it’s quite good. 

IMG_2310

There’s a roof but no walls, which means our view of the ocean was almost unobstructed.  I really want to go back sometime to watch the sunset . . .

We went to a bar afterwards to hang out.  I looked through the menu and ended up getting a drink because the names were just so cool.  They’re basically the same names as in English, but just as Cuba Libre sounds better than Rum & Coke, 自由古巴 (literally “freedom Cuba”) sounds better than Cuba Libre.  I really wanted to get the 敢死队 (literally, “willing to die team”) or Kamikaze, but I don’t like shots. 

Oh!  Earlier today, Yong Zhi came over to my dorm to give me a present from his sister.  Honestly, I was expecting dried fruit or some 特产 (special product) that I would be much less excited to receive than they were to give, but it wasn’t like that at all!  His sister had hand-embroidered a banner of an auspicious saying in Chinese calligraphy. 

IMG_2306

I don’t know how much time she spent on it, but I was really honored to be given such a thoughtful gift. 

  1. What a beautiful piece of work!! I can’t imaging how long it took! What does it say/mean?

  2. It means something like “Wishing your family peace (and auspiciousness) in all things”. Apparently it’s a pretty common saying.

Leave a Reply

