Maria Holland

Let’s Make Science More Funny!

In Uncategorized on February 25, 2010 at 12:44 am

I went to the library today.  Yeah, I know I was despairing yesterday of ever being literate – but this library has English books :)

Their collection is pretty random; except for a few full sets that were obviously bought new, I’m guessing that a good part of their English-language books were donated by departing ex-pats.  There’s a disproportional amount of chick-lit, but there were a few books that looked decent.  Most exciting was their selection of textbooks, including a mint edition of the Beer & Johnson Statics & Dynamics book; I stroked it lovingly and drooled a bit.

I forgot my passport so I’ll have to go again.  I always forget my passport, and it always takes me two trips to get anything done.  Bus rides are fun, though, and the library is in a nice part of town.  There’s a whole Culture and Arts Center, with a performance hall, cultural museum, library, and science museum. 

I want to go back to the science museum sometime and play around.  I love watching people discover basic scientific ideas like acceleration, and I love to geek out and think about all the fun toys in terms of equations and stuff. 

I also love the sign out front,

IMG_2304   

where 好玩 was translated as ‘funny’ instead of ‘fun’.  It works either way, though, really.  I could describe to you the great times we had in Dr. Henshaw’s classes hearing stories of epic engineering fails, or the laughs shared over Dr. McLaury’s numbers which always seemed to increase in significant figures, or the joy that accompanies doing any task with SENEA, but I would probably scare you by showing my true nerdiness.  Science is fun.  And funny.  For real.

I went to dinner with some friends and then went dancing for the first time in over a month!  There weren’t a ton of people there, but those present were happy to see me.  The first dance was the Viennese Waltz, which I managed to do just fine despite my long hiatus! 

  1. Even I can do the Viennese Waltz! Good blog today.

  2. OMG I forgot about Dr. Mclaury’s significant figures. Thanks for the reminder. A great memory.

  3. Seriously, I laughed really hard in that class on many days.

    Remember when McLaury modeled naked?

Leave a Reply

