Maria Holland

Cloudy With A Chance of Jiaozi

In Uncategorized on January 8, 2010 at 12:51 am

I’m done with class!  (Technically, I think we have Grammar class tomorrow but we’re not planning on going . . . )  After a routine (and obviously delicious) lunch and an amazing nap, I went out to ZhongShanLu for some quick shopping.  I bought several more pairs of leggings, part of my quest for the perfect pair (which must be thick, fuzzy, and not too tight), and a new purse for my upcoming travels.  Back at home since then, I wrote out my mind-numbingly-boring (but most likely teacher-approved) texts for my oral final while watching movies.  The Time Traveler’s Wife was good but, as far as I could tell, completely without deeper meaning.  Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs, on the other hand, was actually the worst movie I have ever seen.  This is not an exaggeration, unfortunately.  (Okay, Happy Feet was tremendously bad as well, but aside from the horrible message it was slightly enjoyable to watch.)  It butchered a beloved children’s book, dumbing it down even beyond the point of most reality shows that star young adults with questionable morals living together in one house.  High School Musical contained less cliches, and the average Disney movie has a way more believable love story.

There was exactly one good point.  It’s at minute 80, but I think it wouldn’t make sense without watching the rest of the movie – which I don’t advise.

  1. Thanks for the warning because I really was going to give it a try sometime since it is such a great book. I’ll stay away now.

  2. Awww we loved the movie but yes it was nothing like the book. But it was a good nerd wins movie so the kids liked it.
    Have you read Time Travlers Wife? I loved the book but haven’t seen the movie…if you’ve read the book did it stray far from it?

    and I need me some Jiaozi!

    • Ugh, I guess we disagree on this one! I haven’t read the Time Traveler’s Wife, so I can’t comment on accuracy, sorry.

      I’m trying to learn how to make jiaozi, and if I succeed I will return and make them for you!

  3. Hey we got your postcard today! Thanks so much! I need to send you a package. Maybe now that Christmas is over I can get my act in gear! Anything special you need or want? If you make jiaozi you know we’ll eat it! I miss it so much!
    Have you seen The Curious Case of Benjamin Button? Definitely worth the money to watch it or buy it on DVD…I haven’t ever read the story but now I want to. The Time Traveler’s Wife is a good book but I’ve always wondered how they’d be able to portray all that they need to in a movie. I’ll wait till we can Redbox it.
    and it’s okay to disagree…I still like you ;)

Leave a Reply

