Maria Holland

T-Minus Two Weeks and Counting

In Uncategorized on December 29, 2009 at 1:20 am

I’m glad I have morning class most days of the week so that I get at a decent time, but I’m even more glad that my one day off is Monday.  I slept in til 11:30 today because I didn’t have class until 2:40 – how decadent is that??

I realized today that it is just over two weeks until my parents get here!  I was planning on buying the plane tickets today, but at the last minute my dad told me about a new railroad, the world’s fastest, that just opened between Guangzhou (Canton) and Wuhan.  I’ve mapped out an alternate itinerary for us that would include a ride on this train, and am hoping to buy the tickets tomorrow.  I want to get it done already because, with credit cards not widely accepted in China, I had to withdraw a ton of cash to make the purchase.  I feel like a drug dealer, carrying forty 100-kuai bills on my person. 

I also realized today that we only have two more weeks of class before finals.  While I have been attending class recently, I haven’t studied on my own since coming back from Wuyishan.  I guess I haven’t fully realized that I’m not on vacation still; there’s just something strange about doing homework during Christmas.  Anyway, I’m cracking down on myself and spent the entire evening doing vocabulary and character reviews.  So lame.

Every 30 minutes I take a break and do something else.  I went back and updated the last post from Wuyishan.  There are some more pictures up now (so you can meet our adorable honeymoon couple) as well as translations of several ways to congratulate married couples in Chinese.

This evening, I went out with some friends to The Key.  We had heard it was Ladies’ Night, where women drink free, but it turned out to be Latin night.  Still, the music was good and I danced a bit. 

Before heading home, we stopped at the street food places nearby and I bought some delicious soup to bring home.  I love the availability of good street food, even late at night.  (Actually, it’s almost like only late at night.  When we were there at 11:30, the women were just arriving and setting up)

Leave a Reply

