Maria Holland

I’m Hungry – Gulugulu

In Uncategorized on December 2, 2009 at 12:54 am

Class was rough today, thanks to Dad.  He told me about a new feature of Picasa that identifies and matches faces throughout your photos, and I stayed up way too late watching it work.  (It is really cool, though.)

The best part of class today was learning what noise hungry stomachs make in Chinese – 咕呖咕呖, or ‘gulugulu’, apparently.  It reminded me of the conversation we’ve had a few times comparing animal noises in different languages.  Aleid makes a great Dutch cow noise, and Carlos likes to make fun of the “cock-a-doodle-doo” of American roosters. 

Another fun part of listening class is learning new vocabulary.  This is mainly because the vocab list comes before we hear the listening passage, and it is fun to guess at what the passage will contain.  For instance, when I saw the list containing the words “get drunk”, “fire engine”, “run over; crush”, and “light beam”, I knew we were in for a good time. 

After lunch, I worked some and then took a much-needed nap.  I slept longer than I planned and had one of those weird moments when I didn’t know where I was, what time it was, or if there was something I needed to be doing.  Interestingly enough, I was more surprised to realize it was dark out before 5:00 than I was to realize that I was in China. 

This evening, I met some friends for lunch and shopping on ZhongShan Lu.  Shanghai is a bit colder than Xiamen, so I was hoping to buy a new coat.  When we left XiaDa, we were full of hopes and wish lists, but then the reality of shopping in China sunk in.  Yes, things are cheap – but you get what you pay for.  That’s when you get anything at all, which is hard when you’re shaped like me.  My feet are too big, I’m too fat, and my arms are too long.  It’s hard to get a t-shirt that fits, much less a fitted jacket or, God forbid, pants.  I bought some socks, leggings, and gloves, which are all easy enough, but the larger items were quite difficult to buy.  I managed to find a pair of boots that I could squeeze into, and bought those, and found a jacket that I will probably go back for tomorrow, but the journey nearly sapped the life from me.  If I hadn’t been with friends, I likely would have had a tearful meltdown in one of the boot shops.  I’m not 100% in love with how every part of my body looks, but since coming to China if you were to ask me which body part I would most like the change, the answer would unequivocally be “my feet.”  I’m considering chopping off toes or maybe just binding them; we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

