Maria Holland

There’s Too Many Sunsets I Haven’t Seen

In Uncategorized on November 5, 2009 at 8:59 pm

I felt a lot better this morning.  This was due to several factors:

  • several loving messages from friends and family
  • a good night’s sleep
  • several episodes of Psych, which invariably makes me laugh out loud
  • my consumption of a French baguette and a block of mozzarella cheese in their entirety, as well as about a kilo of yogurt

This morning, I went with Aleid to the travel agency on campus to inquire about getting to Wuyi Shan.  It’s a famous mountain in my province of Fujian, and was our preferred destination for this weekend.  Unfortunately, it’s 14 hours away by train and the overnight option is only available one way.  As much as it was tempting to travel 28 hours for 12 hours on the mountain, we decided to save it for another weekend when we could spend more time there. 

Instead, we’re planning on going to Ningde.  We don’t know much about it except for some rather vague, cool-sounding attractions – two mountains, China’s largest waterfall complex, bamboo rafting – but we do know that our 3-hour bus ride will begin at 7:50 on Saturday morning.  That’s pretty much all you need to know – at least it worked for us in Taiwan!  Even though it’s not what we had planned, I’m excited about the trip.

This afternoon I had Oral class and my Listening midterm.  The test went well and the entire class passed without her making that horrible sucking noise of disapproval, so I was even pretty happy when I left.  Most importantly, we got out early – in time for me to catch the sunset.

I ran back to my room to get a jacket, and then headed for the beach.  The sunset was hidden by clouds so it was more of a spectrum of pastels than a dazzling sun, but it was just as beautiful.

DSCN5487

Highway.tif

I walked further to the west than I had before, and found a new beach.  It’s surrounded by highways (which, if you remember, are one of my favorite parts of Xiamen), so I thought it was beautiful.  They light up at night, so the scenery was beautiful even after the sunset. 

DSCN5502

DSCN5511

I walked along the beach, barefoot, listening to music and singing over the sound of the waves.  It was idllyic.  The songs that came up were so perfect, with themes of suns and sunsets, especially You Are the Sun by Sarah Groves (“I am the moon with no light of my own / Still You have made me to shine / As as I glow in this cold dark night / I know I can’t be a light unless I turn my face to You”) and Many the Miles by Sarah Bareilles:

There’s too many things that I haven’t done yet
There’s too many sunsets I haven’t seen
You can’t waste the day wishing it’d slow down
You would have thought by now
I’d have learned something, yeah

I made up my mind when I was a young girl
I’ve been given this one world – I won’t worry it away
But now and again, I lose sight of the good life
I get stuck in a low light
But then love comes in

How far do I have to go to get to you?
Many the miles, many the miles
How far do I have to go to get to you?
Many the miles, but send me the miles, and I’ll be happy to

I do what I can, wherever I end up
To keep giving my good love
And spreading it around, yeah
‘Cause I’ve had my fair share of “take care and goodbyes”
I’ve learned how to cry and I’m better for that

How far do I have to go to get to you?
Many the miles, many the miles
How far do I have to go to get to you?
Many the miles, but send me the miles, and I’ll be happy to

Red letter day, and I’m in a blue mood
Wishing that blue would just carry me away
I’ve been talking to God
Don’t know if it’s helping or not
But surely something has got to got to got to give
‘Cause I can’t keep waiting to live

There’s too many things I haven’t done yet
There’s too many sunsets I haven’t seen

Great song.  I highly recommend it, as well as leisurely walks on the beach, when you’re feeling down.  You just can’t lose sight of the good life – there are too many sunsets you haven’t seen.

  1. THE BEACH!!!! If there’s one thing I’ve missed about being in Russia, it’s been the beach. I haven’t seen a beautiful sunset or a lovely beach in so long… I think tomorrow I’m going to sit on the bank of the Voronezh River amongst the trash at 4:30 tomorrow to enjoy a lovely sunset (hopefully it won’t be snowing). Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

