Maria Holland

What a Lazy Day

In Uncategorized on October 18, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Leinira may sleep even more than me.  I know, I know, it’s hard to believe, but she slept until 1 p.m. today.  Granted, my waking time is much less tiring than hers, which she spends mostly in the lab.

Needless to say, it’s been a lazy day around the dorm room today.  I did some homework, studied the Mass a little bit, and continued looking through the Lonely Planet guide to make a list of places to go this year.  In the afternoon, I went down to Carlos’ room to exchange music.  I wanted Spanish music, and he wanted country, so an exchange was in order.  I am very interested to hear what he thinks of country music, which I believe is the most American genre.

I had dinner with Carlos, his roommate Pun (from Thailand) and a bunch of Pun’s friends.  Lots of people speaking a smattering of languages, with everyone’s chopsticks dipping in and out of the many dishes we ordered, picking bites bites of food between servings of rice (we went through at least three heaping bowls) – this is the way I like to eat dinner.

Because I don’t much to say about today, I’m going to share some more Chinese words.  In an attempt to add some sort of order, they’re arranged alphabetically.  Enjoy!

  • Accent (as in, someone’s way of speaking) is 口音, or “mouth sound”,
  • Baseball is 棒球, which literally means “stick ball”.  However, 棒 is also slang for fantastic, so you could translate it as “fantastic ball”.  Your choice!
  • Diary is 日记, or “day memory”.
  • To explain is 说明, or “speak bright/clear”.
  • Idiom is 成语, or “becoming language”.
  • To improve is to 提高, or “lift higher”
  • To be jealous is to 吃醋, or “eat vinegar”.
  • Level is 水平, or “water flat”.  This is used for describing the tool, a level surface, and even more abstract things (like my Chinese level for example)
  • News is 新闻, or “new smell”.
  • Oh no! is 糟糕, or “messy cake”!
  • To suffer is to 吃苦, or “eat bitter”.
  • Turkey is 火鸡, or “fire chicken”.

Lastly, I’d like to share with you an interesting article about a Catholic celebration of China’s recent National Day.

  1. Ahhhh…. thanks for 说明 everything!!

Leave a Reply

