Maria Holland

Surprising News From China … Again …

In Uncategorized on August 13, 2009 at 3:20 am

I decided it was about time to buy tickets last night.  In order to do that, I had to find out if I could move in early, so I went online to get the contact information.  There, I stumbled upon this page:

Academic Schedule:

Autumn semester: Sep. 16, 2008 to Jan. 16th, 2009

The 2009 autumn semester of regular Chinese program will start on Aug. 28th, 2009. Please apply before the application deadline, July 10, 2009. If you want to apply after the deadline, please contact us for more advice.

Registration dates: Aug. 28 & 29, 2009
Opening ceremony: Aug. 31, 2009

I wasn’t sure which date to believe – the one I’d seen before (12 Sep) or this new one (28 Aug), but figured it was worth looking into.  I got Wang Pu (a Chinese friend from TU) on the line and called the Overseas Education Office to straighten everything out.  Wang Pu did most of the talking (although I did understand more of this phone call than the last time we called China together!) and eventually told me that registration was on the 28th of August.

So basically, I just happened to figure out in the nick of time that I have to be in China TWO WEEKS earlier than planned.  In fact, I need to be at XiaDa to register two weeks from tomorrow, which means I need to leave before that.

All of a sudden, my departure date is just over a week away.  It looks like I’m going to take my final on Friday and fly out on Monday.

Sure am glad my visa is already on its way back to me . . . I barely even have time to order things and have them get to me!

Oh, China, why do you insist on messing with me?  Do you enjoy it that much?  Couldn’t you at least wait til I get there?

Leave a Reply

