Maria Holland

I Would Be a Horrible Prank Caller

In Uncategorized on April 6, 2012 at 3:19 am

When I talked with Xiao Zhang and Xiao Li a few weeks ago, I asked about the other people that I worked with on the farm that summer.  The others were from Heilongjiang, the province to the north, so they weren’t around when I went back in 2010, but I was sad to miss them on that visit.

I got the phone numbers of my favorite couple, Lao Liu and Han XiaoGuang, though, and thanks to the wonders of Skype, I decided to give them a call.

The phone rang a few times, then someone picked up.

“Wei?”  A woman’s voice.

“Hi, is this Han XiaoGuang?”

“Yes.  Is this Maria?”

What on earth?  I haven’t seen this woman in nearly four years, we’ve never spoken on the phone, never traded contact information, she’s moved since I last saw her, and the last time we spoke I had the vocabulary and grammar of a 5 year-old.

And she picks me out after the first sentence?!

Leave a comment